Public Sphere & Society

Team Public Sphere & Society

Prof. Dr. Mark Eisenegger and his colleagues form the division “Public Sphere and Society” at the IKMZ. Our research focuses on three topics: 1. Change of organizational communication, 2. Social change of modern societies reflected by public communication and 3. Digital structural change of the public sphere and in particular the changing quality of news media. We address these topics from a sociological perspective that incorporates theories of the public sphere and combines them with empirical analyses and with an understanding of science as “enlightenment”. Our division closely cooperates with the fög - Research Institute for the Public Sphere and Society, an associated institute of the University of Zurich, with Mark Eisenegger as president. More about the fög on the website.

1. Change of organizational communication

We are interested in transformations of organizational communication, understood as communication in, from and about organizations. We assume that a change of descriptions about organizations in the public sphere goes hand in hand with changing self-descriptions of organizations. We are particularly interested in linking the transformation of organizational communication with the digital structural change of the public sphere and the changing social values. One main research area involves reputation analysis.

2. Social change and public communication

Members of a society can develop an awareness of their society only in the context of the public sphere. Following this point of view, we are able to describe and explain self-descriptions of society by looking at the change of public communication. Therefore, one research focus deals with issue trends as well as media attention to actors, who gain or lose influence in the public sphere.

Digital structural change: Finally, we explore the digital structural change of the public sphere and its impact on media, economic and political organizations and society as a whole. One focus in this research area is the changing quality of public communication, particularly the quality of the news media and especially in Switzerland’s media system. We are interested in research questions how changing resources in journalism and changing “logics” of the media affect the quality of news. Also, we investigate the effect of “platformization” (Helmond) – i.e. the growing impact of global tech-intermediaries like Google, Facebook, etc. – on the quality of public communication.

Öffentlichkeit & Gesellschaft

Team Öffentlichkeit & Gesellschaft

Prof. Dr. Mark Eisenegger bildet mit seinen Mitarbeitenden die Abteilung „Öffentlichkeit und Gesellschaft“ am IKMZ. Drei Themen stehen im Zentrum unserer Forschung: 1. Der Wandel der Organisationskommunikation, 2. Der soziale Wandel moderner Gesellschaften im Spiegel öffentlicher Kommunikation und 3. Der digitale Strukturwandel der Öffentlichkeit und hier speziell der Wandel der Qualität medienvermittelter Kommunikation. Diese Themen bearbeiten wir vorwiegend aus einer öffentlichkeitssoziologischen Perspektive, in der wir Öffentlichkeitstheorien mit empirischen Analysen und dem Anspruch als Aufklärungswissenschaft verbinden. Unsere Abteilung steht in enger Forschungskooperation mit dem fög – Forschungsinstitut Öffentlichkeit und Gesellschaft, einem assoziierten Institut der Universität Zürich, das von Mark Eisenegger präsidiert wird. Mehr über das fög finden Sie auf der Website.

1. Wandel der Organisationskommunikation:

Hier interessieren wir uns für Veränderungen der Organisationskommunikation, verstanden als Kommunikation in, von und über Organisationen. Wir gehen davon aus, dass sich die Selbstbeschreibungen der Organisationen verändern, wenn sich die Fremdbeschreibungen über die Organisationen im öffentlichen Umfeld verändern. Von besonderem Interesse ist für uns, den Wandel der Organisationskommunikation mit dem digitalen Strukturwandel der Öffentlichkeit und dem gesellschaftlichen Wertewandel in Verbindung zu bringen. Einen Schwerpunkt dieser Forschung bildet die Reputationsanalytik.

2. Sozialer Wandel im Lichte öffentlicher Kommunikation

Die Gesellschaftsmitglieder sind nur in der Lage, im Spiegel der Öffentlichkeit ein Bewusstsein von Gesellschaft auszubilden. Diese Einsicht nutzen wir, um die gesellschaftlichen Selbstbeschreibungen mittels des Wandels der öffentlichen Kommunikation nachzuzeichnen und zu erklären. Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt hier darauf, Themenkarrieren zu untersuchen sowie die Resonanz von Akteuren nachzuzeichnen, die mit ihren Deutungen in der öffentlichen Sphäre an Einfluss gewinnen oder verlieren.

3. Digitaler Strukturwandel der Öffentlichkeit

Schliesslich erforschen wir den digitalen Strukturwandel der Öffentlichkeit mitsamt seinen Auswirkungen auf mediale, ökonomische und politische Organisationen und die Gesellschaft insgesamt. Einen Schwerpunkt legen wir hier auf den Wandel der Qualität medienöffentlicher Kommunikation, insbesondere im Mediensystem der Schweiz. Wir interessieren uns für Fragen, wie veränderte Ressourcen im Informationsjournalismus und veränderte „Logiken“ der Medien auf die Medienqualität durchschlagen. Oder wir fragen danach, welchen Einfluss die „Plattformisierung“ (Helmond), d.h. der wachsende Einfluss der Tech-Intermediäre Google, Facebook und Co., auf die Qualität öffentlicher Kommunikation ausübt.