Transfer

We embrace social responsibility by addressing relevant topics of media use and effects we are facing in Switzerland but also put them into a global context. We bring scientifically-backed findings on media use and effects into public discourse and consult with institutions to help shape society in the future.

Protection of Children in a Connected World

Growing up in an increasingly digitalized landscape prompts questions such as "what new online risks arise in today’s digital landscape", "what are the digital skills children and teenagers need in their everyday life to master these risks", and “how can we empower them for future challenges”? 60 experts from all over the world followed our invitation to this OECD workshop at the University of Zurich. The outcome of this expert consultation is the basis for the revision of the OECD recommendation for the protection of children in a connected world.

workshop1
workshop2
workshop3

Communicative Challenges in Digital Societies

Both public and private communication have changed decisively as a result of digitalisation. We organized the lecture for the Digital Society Initiative to address the most important opportunities and challenges for society arising from these changes. Discussions included the influence of new forms of online propaganda and fake news on political debates, how online platforms can be legally regulated, which strategies media companies can use to assert themselves in the changing market conditions, how children and young people can learn how to use the Internet positively and to what extent robots can help people with disabilities to participate in social exchange. Beside these societal challenges we also addressed the influence of digitalisation on scientific research. Digital traces of Internet usage and electronic devices such as smartphones provide researchers with new insights into people's communication and relationship behavior. At the same time, these data sources are associated with numerous problems, ranging from ethical and legal aspects to the question of what the digital traces stand for.

Ringvorlesung 2018

All lectures are available as videos. Video archive

Transfer

Wir nehmen gesellschaftliche Verantwortung war, indem wir relevante Themen der Mediennutzung und Medienwirkung in der Schweiz sowie deren globalen Zusammenhänge aufgreifen. Wir bringen wissenschaftlich fundierte Erkenntnisse in den öffentlichen Diskurs ein und beraten verschiedene gesellschaftliche Akteure, um einen Beitrag für die zukünftige Gestaltung der Gesellschaft zu leisten.

Protection of Children in a Connected World

Das Aufwachsen in einer zunehmend digitalisierten Umwelt wirft verschiedene Fragen auf wie: "Welche neuen Risiken entstehen in der heutigen digitalen Umwelt", "Welche digitalen Fähigkeiten benötigen Kinder und Jugendliche im Alltag, um diese Risiken zu meistern" und "Wie können wir sie auf die zukünftigen Herausforderungen vorbereiten“? 60 ExpertInnen aus der ganzen Welt folgten unserer Einladung zu einem OECD-Workshop an der Universität Zürich. Die Vorträge und Diskussion bilden nun die Grundlage für die Überarbeitung der OECD-Empfehlung zum Schutz von Kindern in einer vernetzten Welt.

workshop1
workshop2
workshop3

Communicative Challenges in Digital Societies

Sowohl die öffentliche als auch die private Kommunikation haben sich durch die Digitalisierung entscheidend verändert. Wir haben die Ringvorlesung für die Digital Society-Initiative organisiert, um die wichtigsten gesellschaftlichen Chancen und Risiken zu beleuchten, die sich aus diesen Veränderungen ergeben. Diskutiert wurden der Einfluss neuer Formen von Online-Propaganda und Fake-News auf politische Debatten, die Regulierung von Online-Plattformen, Strategien von Medienunternehmen, um sich unter den verändernden Marktbedingungen zu behaupten, die Medienkompetenz von Kindern und Jugendlichen sowie die zukünftige Rolle von Robotern, um Menschen mit Behinderungen besser am sozialen Austausch teilhaben zu lassen. Neben diesen gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen beschäftigten wir uns auch mit dem Einfluss der Digitalisierung auf die wissenschaftliche Forschung. Digitale Spuren der Internetnutzung und elektronische Geräte wie Smartphones bieten Forschern neue Einblicke in das Kommunikations- und Beziehungsverhalten der Menschen. Gleichzeitig sind diese Datenquellen mit zahlreichen Problemen verbunden, die von ethischen und rechtlichen Aspekten bis hin zur Frage reichen, wofür die digitalen Spuren überhaupt stehen.

Ringvorlesung 2018

Alle Vorträge stehen auch als Video zur Verfügung.Videoarchiv