Digital Meal Logo

Over 90% of Swiss yadolescents between the age of 12 and 19 use social networks on a daily basis. In doing so, they are confronted with an overwhelming amount of media content, which continuously confronts them with selection decisions. Depending on personal tastes and preferences, these selection decisions result in very different "digital meals", which can be more or less digestible.

While the providers of the social media platforms have detailed insights into the habits, preferences and decision-making processes of the users, these insights are largely denied to outsiders. Both academic research and the users themselves often lack the necessary data to analyze and scrutinize the usage behavior.

Purpose of the Project

The Digital Meal project, supported by the Participatory Science Academy, builds on the infrastructure of the Data Donation Lab at the University of Zurich and develops an interactive learning module for young people in vocational schools, baccalaureate schools and secondary schools. Learners are guided to obtain their own usage data from media platforms, formulate research questions, analyze their own data and compare it with their colleagues. This allows them to reflect on their own media use. At the same time, sharing the data with researchers creates the basis for novel insights into young people's media use.

The learning module will be developed in a participatory process with students, experienced teachers from the field of media education and researchers from the University of Zurich and will be available to all teachers and interested persons after completion. In addition to the technical tools for evaluating the data, the module will also include teaching materials, teacher comments, and teaching aids that can be used for general education classes, in the subject "Media and Information Technology," in special weeks, or as part of other vessels.

Digital Meal Logo

Über 90% der Schweizer Jugendlichen zwischen 12 und 19 Jahre nutzen tägliche soziale Netzwerke. Dabei sind sie mit einem überwältigenden Angebot an Medieninhalten konfrontiert, was sie kontinuierlich vor Auswahlentscheidungen stellt. In Abhängigkeit der persönlichen Geschmäcker und Präferenzen entstehen durch diese Auswahlentscheidungen ganz unterschiedliche digitalen Mahlzeiten, die auch mehr oder weniger bekömmlich sein können.

Während die Anbieter der Social-Media-Plattformen einen detaillierten Einblick in die Gewohnheiten, Vorlieben und Entscheidungsprozesse der Nutzenden haben, bleiben diese Einblicke aussenstehenden weitgehend verwehrt. Sowohl der akademischen Forschung als auch den Nutzenden selbst fehlen oftmals die nötigen Daten, um das Nutzungsverhalten analysieren und hinterfragen zu können.

Ziel des Projektes

Das von der Partizipativen Wissenschaftsakademie unterstützte Projekt Digital Meal baut auf der Infrastruktur des Data Donation Lab der Universität Zürich auf und entwickelt ein interaktives Lernmodul für Jugendliche in Berufsschulen, Maturitätsschulen und Sekundarschulen. Die Lernenden werden angeleitet ihre eigenen Nutzungsdaten zu beziehen, Forschungsfragen zu formulieren, die eigenen Daten zu analysieren und mit Mitlernenden zu vergleichen. Dadurch kann die eigene Mediennutzung reflektiert werden. Gleichzeitig wird durch das Teilen der Daten mit den Forschenden die Grundlage für neuartige Einblicke in die Mediennutzung von Jugendlichen geschaffen.

Das Lernmodul wird in einem partizipativen Prozess mit Lernenden, erfahrenen Lehrpersonen aus dem Bereich der Medienbildung und Forschenden der Universität Zürich entwickelt und steht nach Fertigstellung allen Lehrpersonen und interessierten Personen zur Verfügung. Das Modul wird neben den technischen Hilfsmitteln für die Auswertung der Daten auch Unterrichtsmaterialien, Lehrerkommentare und Unterrichtshilfen umfassen, die für den allgemeinbildenden Unterricht, im Fach «Medien und Informatik», in Sonderwochen oder im Rahmen anderer Gefässen eingesetzt werden können.